Get your Phone Dev on!

I’m a developer, as the world is moving forward I decided to start building apps for mobile devices, there are so many things you can do and there are so many things now possible thanks to the power of the smartphones.

While making the decision of which platform to use as my first development area I reviewed Android and Windows Phone platforms, and due to the abundance of tools and information on how to develop for windows phone I decided to use that as my launch pad.

The first thing you have to do is get a phone, or so I thought, since I need a place where I can test all the things I will be building, therefore the first step was to get the hardware.

Fortunately here in California Daniel Egan (@DanielEgan) is the Evangelist that is in charge of that, and he happened to be giving away some windows phones for free, (well, you have to be a developer and must be doing something for the platform), so I reached out to him after seeing this tweet:

image

And after a couple of emails describing the apps I want to build, he sent me the phone, pretty cool! Open-mouthed smile

So I was in my merry way ready to deploy a test application I created, but for to do that you have to have an App Hub account.

More on that coming up in some posts.

BTW, this is my phone:

image

2 thoughts on “Get your Phone Dev on!

Leave a comment